Thursday, August 18, 2011

Kerri Chandler's Coast2Coast (NRK Music 2006)

The art of the mix CD is a dying craft, unfortunately fizzling out amidst the accessibility of podcasts, and free downloadable sets. Not that there is anything wrong with this, but there is just something about the overall quality of musical journeys found in CD compilations that are simply unmatchable.

In the not so recent past, I got my hands on Kerri Chandler’s exclusive mix for NRK’s excellent Coast2Coast series. Released in 2006 this mix seals Chandler’s legacy as a House music King (if not the King of House). Perhaps this is a bold statement, but his productions, impeccable musical taste and exceptional approach to DJing contributed to New Jersey's reputation as a breeding ground for proper, warehouse-inspired Deep House (this was the case in the '90s, but today the state continues to be useless).

The tracklist here is mouthwatering. From chord-driven, soul-soaked cuts like Trackheadz’s “Feel,” to racy, dramatically deep ones such as DJ Fudge’s infectious “Mechouga,” this Coast2Coast episode is certainly one for the heads. And out of this 14-track adventure, nothing hits the deep spot more than this nasty number…

Kerri Chandler’s Coast2Coast is available for digital download here. Get deep.


01. Kerri Chandler feat. Monique Bingham / In The Morning (Raw Mix)
02. Jon Cutler & Matthias Heilbronn / 640
03. Dennis Ferrer / Underground Is My Home
04. DJ Fudge / Mechouga (DJ Spen & Karizma Mix)
05. Trackheadz / Feel (Vocal Mix)
06. Moses Mclean feat. Diamond Temple / Always (Soul Groove Mix)
07. Nu Life feat. Kenny Bobien / My Joy
08. Ron Hall & The Muthafunkers / The Way You Love Me (Original Mix)
09. Johnick Meets FTL / A Breath Of Fresh Air
10. Mike Delgado / No One Loves You Like I Do
11. Hardsoul Feat Shaun Escoffrey / No Man (Alix Alvereaz Mix)
12. Kerri Chandler / The Promise
13. Phortune / String Free
14. Phil Hooton / Epichoregeo

1 comment: